Scholarship & Award Information


School of Medicine Institutional Scholarship

  • Tuition and Fees
  • Top Quintile 

LAMMICO Award for Excellence Scholarship

  • Entering Freshman
  • High Undergraduate performance

School of Medicine Disadvantaged Background Scholarship

  • $3,000  - $6,000
  • Proof of Disadvantaged Background 

Nathan Bernstein Scholarship Fund

  • $3,000
  • Proof of Financial Need, High Performing Student

Sandra and Jerry Martin Endowed Scholarship for Medical Students

  • $2,000
  • Incoming Freshman from Rural communities
  • High performing student

Reginald and Ruby Slaughter Scholarship

  • $2,000
  • Top 25% of class, awarded to second, third and fourth year medical students

LSU Honor Scholarship

  • $270.00
  • Top 25% of Class, awarded as sophomore and renewed Junior & Senor year

LSU Rotary Club Scholarship *

  • $2,000
  • Senior student, top 15% and active community service

Charles G. Hargon Jr. Memorial Scholarship for Medical Students*

  • $4,000
  • Rising 4th year Student, Top Quintile, Active community service

*Application required

Senior Awards

  • Graduating seniors are eligible for a variety of awards sponsored by individual departments, LSU Health Shreveport Foundation, and other external sponsors.
  • Society of Academic Emergency Medicine Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award
  • Department of Emergency Medicine Faculty Award
  • Department of Family Medicine Arhur T. Fort, III MD Chairman’s Award
  • Michael O. Fleming MD Family Practice Award
  • John Haynes Country Doctor Award
  • ACP Award for Excellence in Medicine
  • Department of Medicine Award for Outstanding Performance
  • Donald R. Smith Award for Excellence in Neurosurgery
  • H.E. Thompson, MD Memorial Award for  Excellence in Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Excellence in Ophthalmology Award, John W. Henderson
  • Cheryl Clark Lyles Outstanding Student Award in Otolaryngology- Head & Neck Surgery Research
  • Orthopaedic Surgery Outstanding Student Award
  • Robert T. Lucas Award
  • Dr. Amy Ashford Yates Memorial Award in Pediatrics
  • Ralph W. Baucum, Jr. MD
  • John W. Bick Jr., MD Award in Psychiatry
  • John Odita, MD Outstanding Medical Student Award
  • Faculty Award to a Graduating Medical Student for Excellence in Surgery
  • Robert K. Womack Memorial Urology Award
  • Student Yearbook Award
  • Lewis Gottlieb Scholar Award 
  • Dr. and Mrs. Adrian Reed Memorial Award
  • Shreveport Medical Society Honor Award
  • Pattie W. Van Hook, MD Memorial Award
  • Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award
  • Drs. Alice & Joe Holoubek LSU Founder Award
  • John C. McDonald, MD Award
  • Ike Muslow MD, Visionary Award
  • Ascension Degaldo Smith Excellence Award
  • Don and Ruby Horton Generosity of Spirit Award
  • Aaron Selber, Jr., Leadership Award
  • Reid Chadwick Memorial Award
  • Chancellor’s Award
  • Faculty Award for Academic Achievement

Tuition Waivers

Visit our Student Admissions section for information on tuition waivers.

Contact Information

Debbie Chandler, MDAssociate Dean for Student Affairs
Location:  Room 1-204
(1st floor, B Building)
Phone:  (318) 675-5341


Christi Rinaudo, EdD
Interim Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Location:  Room 1-204
(1st floor, B Building)
Phone:  (318) 675-4349


Laura Mackowiak
Coordinator for Student Affairs
Phone:  (318) 675-5414


Courtney Heard
Coordinator for Student Activities
Phone:  (318) 675-5339


Students receiving scholarship awards.

Student Affairs

School of Medicine Awards and Sponsorship Opportunities