Chairman's Page

LSU Health Shreveport Orthopaedic Surgery Department History

LSU Health Shreveport Department of Orthopaedic Surgery is dedicated to excellence in patient care, to research, and to the education and training of future leaders in Orthopaedic Surgery.

LSU Medical Center

Shreveport Charity Hospital was established as a state-funded hospital in 1876. In 1953, the hospital moved to a new facility at the corner of Kings Highway and Linwood Avenue. At this time, the name was changed to the Confederate Memorial Medical Center, because the new building was partially financed through the issuance of bonds secured by surpluses from the Confederate veterans’ and widows’ pension fund. In 1979, the name again changed to the Louisiana State University Hospital, part of the Louisiana State University Medical Center. In 1999, the name was changed to Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center, and in 2011, the campus became known as LSU Health Shreveport.
LSU Medical Center was designated as the first Level I Trauma Center in Louisiana by the American College of Surgeons in December 1991. One month later, the Center became the first state-licensed Level I Trauma Center in Louisiana. In March 2006, the Center received additional verification as a Level I Pediatric Trauma Center. LSU Health Sciences Center was re-verified as a Level 1 Trauma center in November 2009.

Beginnings of Orthopaedic Surgery in Shreveport

When the first Shriners Hospital for Crippled Children in the world opened in Shreveport, Louisiana, in September 1922, Shreveport’s first orthopaedic surgeon arrived. Dr. Guy A. Caldwell was the first Chief Surgeon at the facility now known as Shriners Hospital for Children. Dr. Caldwell served only a short time at Shriners and then briefly entered private practice. In 1924, Dr. Caldwell became the Chief of Service in Orthopaedic Surgery at the Shreveport Charity Hospital, where he served until 1938.

The Orthopaedic Residency Program

One of Dr. Caldwell’s greatest accomplishments during his tenure as Chief of Service was beginning the Orthopaedic Residency program in 1932. This was the first specialty program started at Shreveport Charity Hospital. The first resident was Dr. Theodore M. Oxford (1932-1934).
In 1934, the year that the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery (ABOS) was incorporated, the Orthopaedic Residency Program at the Shreveport Charity Hospital was approved by ABOS. Orthopaedics also was the first specialty residency program approved by the Council on Medical Education of the American Medical Association. The Orthopaedic Department received its first accreditation from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education on November 14, 1952.

The Orthopaedics Department at LSU Health Shreveport

The LSU Health Shreveport opened in September 1969. This enhanced the Orthopaedic Residency Program’s educational process by creating an academic environment which simultaneously stimulated and rewarded academic achievement. Specialty departments were created within the Medical School in early 1970, including the Orthopaedics Department, which was established on February 20, 1970.

Department Leadership

From 1968 to 1970, Dr. Douglas W. McKay was jointly employed by Confederate Memorial Medical Center as Director of the Residency Program in Orthopaedics and by Shriners Hospital for Children as the chief surgeon. When the specialty departments were established within the Medical School in early 1970, Dr. McKay was appointed Professor and Head of the Department of Orthopaedics. As the first chair of the department, he organized the teaching program with participation by the attending staff. Dr. McKay served until 1972.

Dr. Carl G. Goodman was acting head of the department from 1973 until December 1977. In 1978, Dr. James Albright was appointed head of the department. Dr. Albright served longer than anyone else in this position, retiring after twenty-eight years in 2006. Dr. Richard E. McCall was acting head of the department from 2007 until 2009. In January 2010, Dr. John V. Marymont was recruited to be the Professor and Chairman of the Orthopaedic Surgery Department.  Dr. Marymont helped recruit several new faculty and took on the roll of Interim Dean of the University until June 2016.  The Department's acting chairman from June 2016 through February 2017 was Dr. Massimo "Max" Morandi.

Dr. Shane Barton
Thomas Norris MD Endowed Professor
Chairman of the Department since March 1, 2017