Department of Emergency Medicine History

Although our residency training program in Emergency Medicine did not begin until July 2004, our department has a history dating back to 1991. At that time a small group of like-minded emergency physicians came together for a single purpose: providing to an institution that patient care could be improved by applying the principles and concepts of Emergency Medicine. Under the leadership of Dr. Donna Carden, it didn't take long for emergency medicine to prove its worth and in March of 1992, full academic department status was granted to emergency medicine at LSU Health Shreveport, making it only the 35th academic department of Emergency Medicine in the U.S. and the first in Louisiana. Dr. Carden, along with interim chair Dr. Todd Thoma, and our first named Chair, Dr. Steven Conrad ('96-'01) are owed a debt of gratitude for laying the foundation upon which this Department has been built.

We are the only ACS verified Level 1 Trauma Center in the region. We also serve as a primary stroke center with thrombectomy certification and the regional burn center.

LSU Health Shreveport faculty and residents provide tertiary level care for the entire region of North Louisiana, South Arkansas, and East Texas through Ochsner LSU Health Shreveport Academic Medical Center.

  • Hospital beds- 478
  • ED beds- 54
  • Adult visits/year- 60,000
  • Pediatric visits/year- 8,000
  • Major trauma activations/year- 2,400
  • Admission rate- 22%
  • ICU admit rate- 2.3%

Emergency Medicine patients are cared for by:

  • 21 Emergency Medicine Attending Physicians
  • 34 Emergency Medicine Residents
  • 60 nurses
  • 8 Advanced Practice Providers

Contact Us:

Beverly Davidson
Administrative Coordinator
Rachael Daigle
Residency Program Coordinator
Mailing Address
1501 Kings Highway
Dept. of Emergency Medicine
PO Box 33932
Shreveport, LA 71130-3932

Emergency Medicine