News around the Department

New Opportunities:

Dr. Martin Sapp has been named Chair of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology.

Dr. Andrew Yurochko has been appointed Vice-Chair of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology.

Dr. Seong K. Kim has been promoted to Associate Professor of Research. 


Congratulations to Dr. Patrick Gellings who has successfully defended his doctoral dissertation and is now the newest Ph.D. graduate of the department. 

Grants and Awards:

Dr. Andrew Yurochko is Co-PI on a recently awarded Program Project Grant from the National Institutes of Health focusing on how HCMV affects signaling pathways in infected hematopoietic progenitor cells.  

Dr. Jeremy Kamil is Co-PI on a recently awarded 5 year, multi-PI R01 grant from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases to investigate the molecular switch that governs HCMV reactivation from latency. 

Patrick Gellings and Samantha Murphy were awarded the Charles S. McCleskey Award for outstanding oral presentations at the ASM South Central Branch Meeting, Jackson, MS Nov 2-3, 2018.

Aimee Vozenilek has been awarded the Dean's Award for excellence in research. 

Heather Fulkerson has been awarded a Malcom Feist Predoctoral Fellowship.  This brings to 5 the number of our students who are currently supported by fellowships: Lucile Guion (Carroll Feist), Chris Nguyen (Malcom Feist), Sadie Rice (Carroll Feist) and  Samantha Murphy (Ike Muslow). 

Recent graduate Tod Guidry has been awarded a Science Policy Fellowship by the American Association of Cancer Research. This is the first time that the AACR has awarded such a fellowship. 

Meetings and Presentations:

Heather Fulkerson was chosen to present her work at the7th International Congenital CMV Conference & 17th International CMV Workshop in Birmingham, AL,  April 7-11, 2019.  Dr. Andrew Yurochko was chosen as Keynote Speaker and will also give a talk at a breakout session at the same meeting. 

Lucile Guion was selected as the best oral presentation by a graduate student at the DNA Tumor Virus Meeting in Madison, WI July 31-Aug 4, 2018. Matthew Scott, Tod Guidry, Dr. Martin Sapp and Dr. Gaurav Gaikhy also gave oral presentations. 

Samantha Murphy gave an oral presentation at the 37th Annual Meeting of the American Society for Virology held in College Park, MD, July 14-18, 2018. Dr. Michelle Arnold also chaired the Rotaviruses section of that meeting. 

Dr. Jeremy Kamil was selected to present the Jamie McNew Lecture at the University of Minnesota, March 7, 2018. This Lecture was created in honor of a child with congenital cytomegalovirus (CMV) and has been a prestigeous forum for research on CMV for over a decade. 

Appointments and Service:

Dr. Matthew Woolard was  chosen as a co-chair for American Heart Association BSc1 Committee

Dr. Andrew Yurochko was selected to serve on the American Heart Association Steering Committee.


Dr. Seong Kim's laboratory recently published papers in Journal of Virology and Virus Research.

Dr. Andrew Yurochko's laboratory recently published Journal of Virology (spotlighted), PNAS, and Annual Reviews of Virology.

Dr. Martin Sapp's laboratory has recently published papers in the Journal of Virology (spotlighted), PLOS Pathogens, and Cellular Microbiology.

Alumni News:

Dr. Tom Nugent (Ph.D.,1994), Director of R&D at Banyan Biomarkers, Inc., helped develop a bood test for concussion that was recently approved by the FDA. 

Dr. Bryan Bellaire (Ph.D., 2001), Associate Professor at Iowa State University, College of Veterinary Medicine, Ames, is now a Registrant of the National Registry of Certified Microbiologists (NRCM).

Dr. Michael L. Grantham (Ph.D., 2006) is now an Assistant Professor at Department of Biology at Missouri Western State University, St. Joseph, MO.

Dr. Bart Tarbet (M.S., 1995) is now a Research Associate Professor at the Utah State University School of Veterinary Medicine. 

Dr. Gregory Robertson (Ph.D., 2000), an Assistant Professor at Colorado State University, has been awarded an R01 grant from the National Institutes of Health. He is also supported by the Gates Foundation and the Global Health Innovation Technology Fund in his work on tuberculosis. 

Microbiology and Immunology