Allied Health Professions

Marie Vazquez Morgan

Marie Vazquez Morgan, PT, PhD

Associate Professor

Education and Post-Graduate Training
Dr. Vazquez Morgan earned a Bachelors of Science in Physical Therapy in 1993, a Masters in Health Sciences in 1997 from Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center in Shreveport and her doctorate in Health Studies from Texas Woman’s University in Denton, Texas in 2006.

Teaching Interests
Her teaching interests include Differential Diagnosis, Wellness, and Neuroscience.

Research Interests
Her research interests are in the fields of Public Health and Neurological rehabilitation

Selected Publications
(In print) Vazquez, Morgan, M A, Tinsley, S 'Wellness with Spinal Cord Injury: Impact of an Outpatient Ambulation Program’ ' The International Journal of Health, Wellness and Society, February 2011.
(In press) Vazquez Morgan, M A, Allison, S Duhon, D “Heart Rate Changes in Functional Capacity Evaluations in a Workers’ Compensation Population” Work Journal, December 2010.
(In print) Vazquez Morgan MA, Proctor L, Fabre J, Tinsley S, Wissing D. “Faith-based Health and Wellness Assessments for African Americans: The Better Health for the Delta Project” The International Journal of Health, Wellness and Society Oct 2011
Specialty Training/Board Certifications
Certified Healthcare Safety Professional (CHSP), #505

National Service/Recognition
Dr. Morgan is currently on the Shreveport Mayor’s Women’s Health Commission. She has served on several national committees for the APTA including, the Committee on Cultural Competence as Chair in 2009 and the Cultural Diversity Committee –Section on Geriatrics from 2004 to present. She was featured in National Newsline Magazine for PT speaking on the role of cultural diversity in the physical therapy profession, and was honored in November 2006 by Maybelline NY as outstanding female educator of the year, and featured in People en Espanol December 2006 issue. Dr. Morgan was also a recipient of the American Physical Therapy Association Minority Faculty Development National Scholarship in 2003.